Cranberry and chocolate granola bars

January 23, 2011 § 4 Comments

Last weekend we visited some good friends who live too far away for my liking.  They are really only about 40 minutes away (without traffic), but it’s just too far.  I’d much rather they lived no more than 10 minutes away, just to be able to stop by and say hello for any occasion.  Instead, it feels more like a special occasion every time we see each other.  Because of that, I usually feel the need to bring some type of treat with me, just to honor the occasion.  We planned on going for a hike last weekend, so I figured granola bars would be perfect for the occasion.  The only problem: these granola bars had to be vegan and legume and nut-free.  Our friends are vegan, and my wife has a legume and nut allergy, which frequently makes them mutually-exclusive when it comes to sharing food.  Creativity is a necessity.  Now, a vegan granola bar is really not a stretch.  But, a legume and nut-free granola bar (what, no peanuts?!)– that’s a little more of a stretch.  Fortunately, we had recently learned that the so-called cashew nut is actually the seed of the fruit of the cashew tree and often not a problem for people with nut allergies.  (Warning:  lots of cashews are processed with other nuts and therefore contaminated with other nut or peanut oils, so I’d be wary of snacking on just any cashews if you have a nut or peanut allergy.)   I found a really great customizable recipe for granola bars over on smitten kitchen and I used seeds as the “nutty” base: cashews and sunflower, to be exact.  I loved the recipe because I hardly had to do any work– just decide on the ingredients I wanted to use, mix them together and bake.  So easy and so delicious!  I really see no reason to buy granola bars at the store again.  I’ll just be making these with whatever ingredients we happen to have on hand.     Cranberry and chocolate granola bars

Yield: 16 square bars

  • 1 2/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup oat flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 oz. dried cranberries
  • 3 oz. chocolate chips
  • 3 oz. chopped, unsalted cashews
  • 2 oz. sunflower seeds
  • 2 oz. puffed rice cereal
  • 1/3 cup sunflower butter
  • 6 tblsp vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 2 tblsp light corn syrup
  • 1 tblsp water

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line an 8x8in baking dish with parchment paper and set aside.

2. In a large bowl, mix together all of the dry ingredients.

3.  In a separate bowl, whisk together the vegetable oil, maple syrup, corn syrup and water.

4.  Add the wet ingredient mixture and the sunflower butter to the dry ingredients and mix well.

5. Press the mixture in to the prepared pan.

6.  Bake at 350 degrees F for 30-40 minutes until golden brown at the edges.

7.  Remove from the oven and let cool entirely in the pan.  Once cooled, chill in the fridge for 15 minutes before cutting in to squares with a sharp knife.

Yummy granola mix before baking

Notes on these granola bars: I loved the flavor in these granola bars, but I had some trouble with them sticking together as actual bars.  They started to crumble more in to gooey granola, rather than maintain their bar shape.  For the next time, I might try using honey instead of maple syrup, because it seems a bit more gooey.  Also, I think adding more of the sunflower butter would help.  And, if I make a non-vegan version, I might try using butter instead of the oil and maybe adding an egg to help it all stick together.  What is great about this recipe is that you can pretty much do whatever you want, and they are guaranteed to still taste great!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Cranberry and chocolate granola bars

  • Peggie says:

    Hey Erin, when I made my granola bar, I use honey and brown sugar instead of maple syrup and sugar. I also add 1 egg white to it. For people that don’t have peanut allergy, I use chunky peanut butter as well. Mine did stick together after refrigerate for awhile. (feel like discussing our experiment in lab….)

  • way outthere says:

    i’m sorry we live so far away. i can’t wait for you to honor us next weekend; can we have a 25-recipe cookie contest where you are the sole contestant?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cranberry and chocolate granola bars at Baker's Notebook.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

