Chocolate souffle cookies

September 23, 2010 § Leave a comment

It’s been a week full o’ cookies here!  This past weekend I attended a cookie baking party.  We all brought our own ingredients, prepared the cookies, baked them at the party and then exchanged cookies.  Needless to say, I am cookied out this week!  For the party, I wanted to prepare some cookies that required me to bring as few ingredients as possible and not too much prep time.  So, I decided to try some chocolate souffle cookies.  I was inspired by the recipe in The Best of Fine Cooking Chocolate! issue. Here’s what you need:

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/8 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup granulates sugar
  • 6 oz. bittersweet or semisweet chocolate**

**Very important:  use high quality chocolate because the chocolate is front and center in these cookies.  I had bought some 73.5% El Rey Apamate cacao discs for a previous chocolate-centric dessert that I never ended up making, so I decided to use it for these cookies.  It certainly doesn’t have to be all that fancy, but you know, something tasty.

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

2. Melt the chocolate in the microwave (slowly!) or using a double-boiler.  Set aside and let it cool slightly.

3. Using a mixer, beat the egg whites and cream of tartar until soft peaks form.

4.  Add the vanilla and sugar gradually as you continue beating.  Continue beating until stiff peaks form.

5.  Gently pour the chocolate over the egg whites.  Using a spatula, fold the chocolate in to the egg whites until just mixed.

6. Using a tablespoon, quickly scoop the mixture and place on a parchment-lined baking sheet.  Bake for 10-12 minutes.  They should be shiny and slightly crackled outside, and look a bit gooey on the inside.

Notes on these cookies: If you like chocolate, you’ll love these cookies!  They have some intense chocolate flavor.  I was really happy with the chocolate part of these cookies, but the souffle didn’t work out quite as good as I had hoped.  The cookies looked a bit puffier when I pulled them out of the oven, but I think the souffle collapsed a bit as they cooled.  My egg whites never got as stiff as I wanted, although they didn’t dry out either.  I’m not sure exactly what the explanation was for this, so I’ll need to work on that for next time.

The recipe calls for using a teaspoon for scooping the cookies, but this seemed really small to me.  Well, I should have followed it.  These are intense cookies and eating half of one is about the perfect after dinner treat.  Next time, I’ll definitely be using that teaspoon!  I’m sure this will help the yield too– I only ended up with 19 cookies (kind of a sad number for a cookie baking party), when the recipe says it should be 40.  So, next time: smaller cookies and better souffle!

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chocolate souffle cookies at Baker's Notebook.

meta

